Frequent NPC playwright Samuel D. Hunter, Awarded 2014 MacArthur Genius Grant

The MacArthur Foundation today named its 2014 class of MacArthur Fellows, recognizing 21 exceptionally creative individuals with a track record of achievement and the potential for significant contributions in the future.

Fellows will each receive a no-strings-attached stipend with no stipulations or reporting requirements, and allows recipients maximum freedom to follow their own creative visions.

“Those who think creativity is dying should examine the life’s work of these extraordinary innovators who work in diverse fields and in different ways to improve our lives and better our world,” said Cecilia Conrad, Vice President, MacArthur Fellows Program. “Together, they expand our view of what is possible, and they inspire us to apply our own talents and imagination.”

The MacArthur Fellows work in diverse fields and often across multiple disciplines. Learn more about the 2014 class at

Panel discussion at the New York Library for the Performing Arts @ Lincoln Center, May 29, 2014. Panelists included Hunter, O'Neill Center Founder George C. White, Playwrights Jon Guare & Qiuara Alegria Hudes, Artistic Director of the Manhattan Theater Club Lynne Meadow, and Playwrights Conference Artistic Director Wendy C. Goldberg.